Sachin Pilot visited the post offices in Delhi and NCR which had been upgraded under Project Arrow.

NCR & Delhi Post Offices Upgrading Checked
Last Updated: 2009-07-22T10:44:34+05:30
PrintMailRecommend This Site
NCR & Delhi Post Offices Upgrading Checked
Sachin Pilot
Sachin Pilot
Sachin Pilot, Minister of State for Communications and Information Technology, visited the post offices in Delhi and NCR which had undergone upgradation under Project Arrow, on Tuesday.
He visited Patparganj post office for inspection and Ghaziabad head post office for interacting with its staff.
Project Arrow was launched in April 2008. It aims to upgrade post offices in urban areas. The third phase of the project was launched in February 2009 and is expected to be completed by April 2010.  Sachin Pilot said the government aims to upgrade 500 more post offices across India in this phase.
In the second phase of the project, Ghaziabad head post office and Noida head post office were covered and initiatives were taken to improve infrastructure and take up building maintenance.
"Our aim is not only to upgrade the infrastructure and facilities but to also function in a way that our customers are satisfied with our services," Sachin Pilot said.
About 50 post offices were covered under the first phase whereas 450 post offices were upgraded in the second. The third phase is the largest till now in terms of number of post offices covered.
"This is the largest phase till now because we aim at a total of 500 post offices across India. After the completion of this phase, we would achieve a benchmark of covering 1,000 post offices," he added.
"We have a budget of Rs.106 crore (Rs.1.06 billion) for developing the core banking services in this (third) phase. We not only want to upgrade the facilities alone but also change the look and feel of the post offices to give them a distinct identity of their own," Sachin Pilot added.

More news on:   • Delhi News   • Sachin Pilot  

PrintMailRecommend This Site

India Watch

See also: Sachin Tendulkar  |  Saif Ali Khan  |  Salman Khan  |  Salman Khursheed  |  Sanjay Dutt  |  Sanjay Suri  |  Shah Rukh Khan  |  Shahid Kapoor  |  Shammi Kapoor  |  Sharad Pawar  |  Sharman Joshi  |  Shashi Tharoor


Indian Premier League

Latest News

More topics in India Watch