HLN’s Showbiz Tonight has named singer Lady Gaga as the Most Provocative Celebrity of The Year.

Lady Gaga Declared Most Provocative Celebrity Of The Year
Last Updated:
Year 2010 for Hollywood was filled with lots of breaks up-make ups and scandals. The year witnessed the end of beautiful marriages like Sandra bullock-Jesse James, Tiger Woods- Elin Nordegren and Courteney Cox – David Arquette. At the same time H-town hunk Orlando Bloom married Victoria’s secret model Miranda Kerr and also Katy Perry walked aisle with her long time beau Russel Brand in a lavish Indian wedding.
But one question that will be doing rounds in one’s mind that who is that one celebrity who made news the whole year and kept the interest of the people throughout the year?
Well, HLN’s Showbiz Tonight answered all these questions and announced Lady Gaga as the Most Provocative Celebrity of The Year.
To win the honour, the singer bested nominees like Charlie Sheen, Mel Gibson, Lindsay Lohan and Miley Cyrus.  
Show’s executive producer, David Levine, was quoted as saying, “The key was that the mention of Lady Gaga’s name sparks a visceral reaction. And she’s had the most continued interest among all the nominees. She became the first person to reach 1 billion [views] on YouTube and she has 6 million followers on Twitter.”
“She’s given passionate speeches at the Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell rally in Portland [Maine] and her plea to end bullying had an impact. She also revealed that she has Lupus and then there was ‘the finger’ incident at the Mets game. She also has a hit album. Her reach is immeasurable,” David added.
Meanwhile, Levine also informed that it was expected that Lohan will win the title but surprisingly out of 40 votes only four votes went to her.  
“The day before we voted, it was down to Lohan and Charlie Sheen. It was a little obvious and I sent out a note to everyone telling them it was their last opportunity (to nominate someone).  Somebody threw Lady Gaga’s name into the ranks; we hadn’t really discussed her...and when we told AJ and Brooke, they were like, ‘That’s a no-brainer,’” Levine said.
Meanwhile, the prestigious honour in 2006 and 2007 was won by Britney Spears while Sarah Palin was declared the winner in 2008 and Jon Gosselin in 2009.