Aamir Khan's directorial debut 'Taare Zameen Par' has bagged as many as four V Shantaram Awards, including the Best Film Gold Award.

Aamir Khan's 'Taare Zameen Par' Wins V Shantaram Awards
Last Updated: 2008-12-27T17:00:39+05:30
PrintMailRecommend This Site
Taare Zameen Par Wins V Shantaram Awards
Taare Zameen Par
Taare Zameen Par
Aamir Khan's directorial debut 'Taare Zameen Par' has attached more feathers to its cap by bagging as many as four V Shantaram Awards, including the Best Film Gold Award.  The Best Actor award was given to Darsheel Safary for his outstanding performance in 'Taare Zameen Par'. Apart from Aamir's TZP, other Indian movies that were in the run for the Best Film award include 'A Wednesday', 'Jodhaa Akbar', 'Kadha Parayumpol', 'Paradesi' and 'Tingya'.
The movie titled 'A Wednesday' bagged the Best Film Silver Award while 'Tingya' received the bronze. Aishwariya Rai Bachchan was named Best Actress for her role in 'Jodhaa Akbar'. Besides Aishwariya, other actress who were also nominated for the best actress award include Asin for 'Dasavataram', Amrita Rao in 'Welcome to Sajjanpur', Meera Jasmine in 'Calcutta News' and Nithya for 'Akashgopuram'.
However, both Aishwariya and Aamir were not present to receive the coveted awards. The prestigious awards were named after legendary filmmaker V. Shantaram. The awards were instituted by The Rajkamal Academy of Cinematic Excellence which was founded by the V. Shantaram in 1975. The best director awards went to Neeraj Pandey, Aamir Khan and Ashutosh Gowariker. Neeraj Pandey also won the Best Debut Director Award.
A.R. Rehman bagged the Best Music Director award for his score in 'Jodhaa Akbar.' The Best Debut Actor award went to Farhan Akhtar for his role in 'Rock On!' while Jimmy Shergil was chosen as The Best Supporting Actor for his performance in 'A Wednesday'. Last but not the least; Amol Gupte was presented the Best Writer Award for 'Taare Zameen Par'.

More news on:   • Film Awards   • Aamir Khan   • Darsheel Safary  

PrintMailRecommend This Site


See also: Abhay Deol  |  Abhinav Bindra  |  Abhishek Bachchan  |  Aditya Chopra  |  Ajay Devgn  |  Akshay Khanna  |  David Dhawan  |  Dayanidhi Maran  |  Dev Anand  |  Dev Patel  |  Dharmendra  |  Dino Morea


Indian Premier League

Latest News

More topics in Entertainment